Stranger Things Digital Soundtrack Download Release: Where To Listen On August 12

By on

The Stranger Things soundtrack will finally be released, just a week after the initial announcement that a compilation is in the works. Makers of the Netflix original series announced on Wednesday that Kyle Dixon and Michael Stein, the duo behind the show?s score, will release part 1 of the digital version on Friday, August 12.

The soundtrack will come in two parts, with the second one slated for an August 19 digital release. The CD versions will come out on September 16 and 23 for part 1 and 2, respectively.

Dixon and Stein are members of the band Survive, which apparently the directors of the hit show are fans of. The collaboration began when they received an email from the Duffer brothers containing a mock trailer of Stranger Things recorded with their song ?Dirge? used in the background.

In an interview with Rolling Stone, Dixon said that they sent a lot of their other material to the show, some of which ended up being used, but a lot ended up being re-worked.

?And after we sent that initial [material] over to them, they picked a few things out, and then asked us to do a little more for certain things … like write a theme for some of the characters to use … to pitch to the producers and stuff.?

Demo used for auditions

The duo got involved early on, even before Stranger Things cast anyone. ?They used the demo that we’d sent to play against the auditions, which kind of helped them decide, you know, whether or not they wanted to use us … and I think it may have also dictated who they cast for some of the characters. So, that was cool,? Dixon said.

In a press release, Kyle described the soundtrack vibe as ?a classic tone and feel? but being reserved enough that it wasn?t ?80s cheese. This was one of the qualities that drew them to our music in the first place. Having a familiarity with classic synths worked, but with an overall forward thinking approach.?

Here are the official track titles for Stranger Things, Vol 1 soundtrack:

  1. Stranger Things
  2. Kids
  3. Nancy and Barb
  4. This Isn?t You
  5. Lay-Z-Boy
  6. Friendship
  7. Eleven
  8. A Kiss
  9. Castle Beyers
  10. Hawkins
  11. The Upside Down
  12. After Sarah
  13. One Blink For Yes
  14. Photos in the Woods
  15. Fresh Blood
  16. Lamps
  17. Hallucinations
  18. Hanging Lights
  19. Biking to School
  20. Are You Sure?
  21. Agents
  22. Papa
  23. Cops Are Good at Finding
  24. No Weapons
  25. Walking Through the Nether
  26. She?ll Kill You
  27. Run Away
  28. No Autopsy
  29. Dispatch
  30. Joyce and Lonnie Fighting
  31. Lights Out
  32. Hazmat Suits
  33. Theoretically
  34. You Can Talk to Me
  35. What Else Is There to Do?
  36. Hawkins Lab

About the author

To Top