iPhone

How to disable Apple?s iPhone tracking feature and get protected anytime

By on

Is your iPhone ?tracking your every move? Then it’s time to disable your Frequent Locations feature from doing so.

A few months ago, iPhone tracking location features began to create panic on the users. Many blog posts especially those who are very concerned with privacy issues recommended to disable Apple iOS 7 frequency locations setting, in order for your moves not to get tracked.

It could be remembered that October last year, even the Privacy Commissioner of Canada warned and recommended users to disable ?frequent locations? setting on iOS 7.

?If you want to limit the amount of information out there you have to play a role and limit the amount of information relating to your tracking, and your location that is enabled by these features,? Ann Cavoukian, Ontario Privacy Commissioner said in an interview with a reporter from Toronto.

Apple iPhone has Location Services feature which allows location-based apps and websites (including Maps, Camera, Safari, and other Apple and third-party apps) to use information from cellular, Wi-Fi, Global Positioning System (GPS) networks, and iBeacons to determine your approximate location.

Buried in this service includes Popular Near Me, Frequent Locations, and Location-Based iAds.

Popular Near Me allows your iPhone to periodically send locations that could be used to offer geographically-relevant Apps. Location-Based iAds will send your location to Apple so you?d be provided with geographically relevant iAds. Then the Frequent Locations will tell you to keep track on the places you?ve been, when/how often you visited, so you?ll have a record of the places that are significant to you.

So, here?s how you?re going to turn odd location services in your iOS 7.

Go to Settings > Privacy > Location Services > System Services > Frequent Locations > Frequent Locations Off

Moreover, location services for an iOS 7 or later devices like iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch uses this so called location warnings. These are requests made by apps (such as Camera, Compass, and Maps as well as location-based third-party apps) to use Location Services with those apps. Applications will pop-up a location warning the first time it needs to access Location Services data. If you tapped on the OK, then you give that app permission to use Location Services as needed, while tapping Don’t Allow will be the other way around. You’ll prevent that particular application from accessing Location Services data from then on.

So here’s what you should do to disable Location Services as instructed by Apple support page:

? To do so, tap Settings > Privacy > Location Services and either turn off all Location Services using the Location Services slider or use the individual sliders for each location-aware app or item on your device.

? To disable Location Services for all websites, turn off Location Services for the Safari app.

? You may also disable location-based system services on your device by tapping System Services and turning off each location-based system service on your device.

So this way, you’ll get protection too.

(Photo courtesy of http://www.apple.com/ios/)

About the author

To Top