News

Facebook introduces new optional feature called Nearby Friends. Turn it off if you don’t want it.

By on

Facebook collects a lot of data from you including your current location when you post on their website. Now, Facebook wants to let other people know where you are posting from as well. Introducing ?Nearby Friends?, a feature that, according to Facebook: ?helps you discover which friends are nearby or on the go?.

According to their website, ?If you turn on Nearby Friends, you?ll occasionally be notified when friends are nearby, so you can get in touch with them and meet up. For example, when you?re headed to the movies, Nearby Friends will let you know if friends are nearby so you can see the movie together or meet up afterward.?

Remember that this is an optional feature and you should make sure to turn it on only if you want the said feature. If you do decide to have it on, make sure that you only make it visible to those who you want to have it seen such as friends, close friends or a filtered down list of specific friends. This feature can be turned on and off at any time.

Facebook will be rolling out the feature in the next couple of weeks for iOS and Android. Once available, you?ll be able to see Nearby Friends option in the navigation menu. The sharing of location goes two ways; both users have to have Nearby Friends turned on as well to allow each other to share information in order to see each other. Friends will only be able to see that you are nearby if you opt to share the info with them and vice versa.

nearby-friends-press-2

Another feature that comes with Nearby Friends is that ability to share a precise location with specific friends and choose a set period of time for a meet up such as in the next hour. Facebook said: ?When you share your precise location, the friend you choose will see exactly where you are on a map, which helps you find each other. Then you can meet up and spend time together.?

Facebook is trying to innovate and draw people closer by rolling out Nearby Friends. If used correctly, it can be a handy option to use, but you also have to make sure that it is only seen by the people who you want it to be seen. If this feature doesn?t work for you, make sure to turn it off completely.

Photo source: Facebook newsroom

About the author

To Top